Home > Game streaming > Where do your loyalties lie?

Where do your loyalties lie?

I believe that anyone who went to the match VERSUS Real Madrid on Saturday all has had an experience with this – Local people wearing Real Madrid jerseys.  You would have noticed a number 7 on the back, most likely.  The typical wearer would also be female, white, and from West Chester.  Yes, I am stereotyping.

Let me get this off my chest – If you are from Philadelphia, or the surrounding areas – born here and not a first generation born of parents from a foreign country (most likely spain, maybe portugal, mexico however has no excuse) YOU ARE MORONIC FOR ROOTING FOR REAL MADRID!

I get the point of these friendlies – advertising the lesser league with the big marquee money maker.  I wouldn’t have much of an issue if Ronaldo, their “star” wasn’t so much a fashionista than a soccer player.  BUT, a huge one, if you are from Philadelphia and do not support the local team – there is no excuse.

This goes along the lines in all sports.  I understand that maybe you live here, but you were originally from New York or Arizona and don’t support any Philadelphia teams.  That’s understood.  If I moved I would expect my children to root for the local team even though I would always be rooting for Philadelphia, it’s a common concept.  If you are American and from DC or New York and came to see the game, I have no issue with you.  It’s everyone from here that I have the issue with.  If you consider yourself a Philadelphian (suburbanite included) through and through, then why were you not rooting for the Union on Saturday.  Why were you doing the wave?  You did realize that was in support of Real, right?  It’s not a soccer thing (here), right?  It’s also bloody stupid anymore.

Now to my actual reaction to the game – it was fun.  I enjoyed it (minus not truely being able to heckle thanks to the 5 teenage girls who were ronaldo’s fan club in the section).  We sat above and to the left of the Supporters End, and it was marvelous seeing from that angle.  You could see the entire crowd, and to be honest, it was sickening when I saw 90% of the crowd rooting for “Madri” at one point… but the overwhelming outnumbered support had no hampering on the game or the stands from what I could tell. 

It was a friendly, it was meant as fun.  And, it was even better because it was a GOOD game.  Both teams had plenty of shots, possession, and attacking.  We understand Real wasn’t trying necessarily too hard, either because of the heat, a friendly, or cause they were dogging it (really, they didn’t play up to full par and could still probably massacre us) but it made it enjoyable.  If there were any fights, it’s because someone needs to not watch green street hooligans, or needs to lay off the booze.  – i was just notified of a big fight after the match which I apparently walked past after the fact, it wasn’t as big as it was made out to be, but consisted of people in phillies gear – so to my point, lay off the booze.  But I think overall the fans were there just to see one of the best teams in the world play our local team.  And in that, I think no one left feeling unsatisfied, and that we all had a good time. 

Back to my original commentary – if this was a game that mattered, say the Champions League, and the Linc was that overwhelmed with away support, there is seriously something very wrong with your mindset…

But I know that there are many converts, or at least people now interested to see the Union, and in that, it was a success.

  1. The Fans Who Were Actually From Other Cities
    July 25, 2011 at 11:49 AM

    We actually were from other cities. It was a big ticket game, so we came to Philly. Cool your jets.

    • djkw418
      July 25, 2011 at 3:54 PM

      DAMMIT DOUG!!!! You sold your ticket.

  2. Sonny
    July 25, 2011 at 11:57 AM

    My biggest issue was the amount of people that cheered when the Union scored. Not sure if the Union being an underdog and keeping it an exciting game won their hearts or if there were that many people who thought it was okay to be a Union fan and wear a Madrid jersey.

  3. Not Joe C.
    July 25, 2011 at 12:22 PM

    Kinda like when someone who is not from England uses the phrase “bloody stupid” in their blog. Only a wanker would do something like that.

    • djkw418
      July 25, 2011 at 12:27 PM

      The irony is biting joe… and I know it’s you.

    • djkw418
      July 25, 2011 at 12:29 PM

      I also watch too much bbc america.

  4. Phil
    July 25, 2011 at 1:26 PM

    I know what you mean. I bet the majority of those wearing Real jerseys probably couldn’t name anyone else on the team other than Ronaldo. When Newcastle came to KC, we didn’t have it as bad because Newcastle doesn’t have the name recognition or popularity here as the bigger teams who are here so it was mostly Sporting fans rooting for us. Of the Newcastle fans I met, many of them flew from across the pond and were following them on their American tour and others were traveling from different MLS cities and were fans of other teams. Some people drove as far as Dallas and Denver for the game. It was a highly defensive game, but a good game. Newcastle put in their starting 11 and actually tried to win. They admitted after they hated the heat but anyone could see that and honestly I thought we were the better team. Still got the draw.

  5. Lina C.
    July 25, 2011 at 2:25 PM

    I absolutely agree with your standpoint regardless of what some people will say and have said. Being from New Jersey (the southern end) and from parents that were Philly born, I will always “till death do us part” be a Philly fan. If I move to California, I won’t be rooting for LA Galaxy, I’ll be rooting for the Union. Sure, I’ll got Galaxy games to support MLS, but I’ll always admit to being a Union fan. Now, regarding the Real Madrid game. I saw two boys from my school who are Mexican and supporters of Spain’s national team and Argentina there in Real Madrid jerseys. I can sort of understand that seeing as how some on Real Madrid’s player were on Spain’s national team during World Cup 2010, but yet these are the same kids who would never, and I do mean never, go to an MLS game otherwise. I also know of several other kids who went to the game to support Real Madrid, but know the first thing about soccer or MLS. They heard Cristiano Ronaldo’s name and were quick to go for him. And while yes their ignorance feeds the frenzy and makes the money for MLS it’ll never be any less annoying. All in all, though, I thought it was a brilliant game and it would have been nice to see a lot more locals in the Blue & Gold to rep for the Union.

  6. alex
    July 26, 2011 at 12:33 PM

    HAHAHAHA I know a white girl who lives in West Chester and bought a Fashionista jersey because he’s “so hawt!” That stereotype is so so true.

    The amount of Madrid supporters at the game (while expected) absolutely killed me…The amount of American soccer fans who don’t support MLS because they’re too pretentious to get off their European high horses kills me… MLS is infinitely more entertaining than La Liga! I really expected a larger Union crowd to turn out. I can’t imagine that the number of out of town Madrid supporters was so outrageous that the Linc looked like Beaver Stadium in the midst of a Penn State White Out. Don’t be afraid to support your local boys! Come on the U!

  7. Jen
    July 26, 2011 at 9:09 PM

    I think the criticism over the Real Madrid support is unfounded. First of all, while it may be stereotypical and “poser”ish of so many young women to be fans of Ronaldo, he has drawn thousands..maybe millions of women to become interested in soccer who may not have ever taken an interest before.
    Also, Real Madrid is an international team who we Americans don’t get to see play live very often, so of course when they come to town, they are going to get a lot of support & sell a lot of merchandise. And, last time I checked, the SPANIARDS won the World Cup, and a lot of their player (i.e., Iker Casillas) were part of the Spanish national team.
    I was proudly wearing my Union gear at the game, and I Doop-ed along with everyone when they scored, but I also cheered for some of my favorite Madrid players. Mybe I’m biased because I’m a Spanish teacher, but you need to lighen up a bit about people showing support for an international team that happens to be playing against the local team.

    • djkw418
      July 27, 2011 at 9:38 AM

      As I don’t necessarily tyr to squash people’s opinions, as they are opinions and everyone has a right to – and the internet is a perfect soap box – but considering the tone of most of my posts in my blog, I am brash, opinionated, and don’t hold back. I don’t actually hold anything against anyone – it is a topic that many people have much worse opinions on than myself. But considering various other posts I have created (the best being my rant about Bimbo being a sponsor, if you want brash, look at that one) you’d understand the mindset of where I am coming from and what I am portraying.

      As for lightening up, I’m fairly calm and considerate and other than talking back to the girls who started heckling at me first, I said no words to people wearing RM jerseys, and still won’t – white, hispanic, whatever. This was a point about the general atmosphere of what I saw and a debate in which is founded – who do you root for (there is a poll)

      Don’t take online blogs so seriously. For a Philadelphia sports fan, this one is fairly docile.

    • djkw418
      July 27, 2011 at 9:46 AM

      Also, this argument has a multitude of factors involved of people supporting a team in a different league, on a different continent, etc.etc. This is just one small facet of it.

  8. Stephanie
    July 27, 2011 at 10:22 AM

    It was a great game. I was truly disappointed in the lack of Union support and the “Ronaldo” fan clubs. Cristiano is interested in one person only and that is himself. I understand supporting other teams as I am a Juventus and Manchester United fan but I can’t understand the lack of locals who showed for the Real game. While the Real fans in our section were very nice and even cheered when the Union scored, it was sad that we could not have seen a more equal showing.

  9. Juice
    July 29, 2011 at 3:34 PM

    I scorn anyone who supports a foreign team or a team from Texas over their local Philadelphia team. In fact, it’s blasphemous. Enough said.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

