Home > Uncategorized > Fan Poll! !!!!!

Fan Poll! !!!!!

Have you ever supported a team prior to the Philadelphia Union?  If they were your favorite club, and the Union just so happened to play them at any point – be it tournament or friendly – who would you root for.  Please leave comments as to what team, and any further explanation as to why you chose the answer you chose.

A much heated debate has broken out about team affiliation, and we want more opinions!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 25, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    Personally i’d probably just sit back and enjoy the game. It will never ever ever happen (my other team are Peterhead, who play in lower division Scotland) – however, i really have no idea who i would support. If i HAD to – it would probably be Peterhead as i’ve been a fan longer though (so if i could answer twice it wouldn’t be the Union option). The whole idea that you have to have strong local ties to your team is all a fallacy in my opinion though. Whatever the reason, if you support a team with all you have – that’s important.

  2. July 25, 2011 at 7:49 PM

    As I said on Twitter, I’ve supported (Manchester) City for over ten years now, but if they came over for a friendly, I would support the Union over them. If for some reason they ever met in the Club World Cup (or something similar), who knows. I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

    I still think Ronaldo fans outnumbered both Union and Real Madrid fans at the match. I’m sure the majority of attendees in Ronaldo tops have the United version sitting in their closet.

  3. claw
    July 26, 2011 at 2:04 PM

    There’s no entry in the poll for not supporting any club team before the Union – which describes me. I’ve been a USMNT fan since forever, but I never picked a club team to give my allegiance to. I can’t just pick some random club that plays in another country and be their fan. I am a Philly sports fan through and through, so my clubs pick me. I rooted for the Atoms and the Fury back in the day, and I root for the Union now.

    While I don’t disagree with the previous poster who says having to have strong local ties is a fallacy, I can’t understand how people decide who they’re going to root for otherwise. If you’re a native of the Philly area like I am, how the hell do you become a fan of Peterhead? And why? I never even heard of them. Even Man City I don’t understand (other than they’re not Man U.).

    • djkw418
      July 27, 2011 at 9:49 AM

      That’s the thing, this poll is meant for those who had a favorite club before the Union was founded. I should have noted that because I had only watched soccer for the pure enjoyment (and never was able to watch it consistently) I did not have a favorite club team I rooted for, therefore I didn’t vote.

  4. July 26, 2011 at 2:19 PM

    Claw – i am From Peterhead. That’s why i became a fan. While being local makes it easier for “becoming a fan” – you could have a friend introduce you to the Union, family member introduce you, your Idol when you get into the sport may play for a certain team and that’s why you become a fan. Like many Union fans i have talked to – just being here on holiday, getting tickets to the game because you love the sport – and then enjoying the atmosphere in the stadium can mean you become a fan. All of those can mean you become a fan, and if you love the team so much, it is very difficult to not support them if you have for years.

    Going the other way – if you grew up in Philly – and in 2008 moved across the country. Would, when the Union came to being – would you support them? They are not local any more to you are they? What would make you support them. What if – in 20 years time the Union decide they don’t want to be in Philly any more – that they want to move to Charlotte. Would you suddenly stop supporting the team that you have put your heart and soul into for 20 years, just because they don’t have the word “Philadelphia” attached to them? Is it THAT important in reality?

    Being local is definitely a fantastic reason for starting to support a team. However, there are many many other reasons to do so – including randomly selecting a team based out of pot luck. If you put everything into supporting them – what is wrong with that?

  5. July 26, 2011 at 4:59 PM

    I support Manchester City because I was a Manchester-mad teen (Madchester mad?). Playing FIFA, I gravitated towards City over United. Once I turned 21 and was able to spend mornings at soccer pubs, City was my viewing choice. And it’s stuck.

    I think it’s odd when people don’t support a foreign club in addition to the Union. Sports are more fun when you root for someone. Why should I sit out cheering someone on while the MLS decided if Philadelphia was worthy of a club?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

