Home > Match Preview > Match Preview: Union vs. Chivas USA

Match Preview: Union vs. Chivas USA

Chiva USA
Philadelphia Union

 

 

 

VS 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Match Vitals:  4pm Saturday, September 25, PPL Park, Chester, PA, Live Well HD Network (streaming online for most of us)

Season Series:  Drew, 1-1, at the Home Depot Center, Los Angeles, CA, back on July 3rd.

Union have had 10 days off.  I had to look up the last match that they played because I had forgotten, so it must have been a (relatively) long time ago.  That being said, I’m ready for some Union football, and what better remedy for a hiatus than to have Chivas USA come visit Chester.

 Matchup I Can’t Wait to See:  Sebastien Le Toux vs. Jonathan Bornstein

 Bornstein’s competent showing for the U.S.A. in the World Cup doesn’t remotely excuse his abominable play for most of the time that I’ve been aware of him.  I saw him in-person at the friendly against Turkey, and as soon as he came in as a left back, the Turkish attacks progressed up their right wing.  Right at Jon-Jon.  I fully expect Coach Peter Nowak to be aware of how much Mr. Bornstein sucks and send Seba his way frequently.  I’m not saying that I foresee Le Toux’s second hat trick of the season coming Saturday, but it certainly wouldn’t shock me.  In my fantasy prediction league, I put Union in for a 2-1 win.  That was until I was reminded that Bornstein plays for Chivas.  I now expect 3-1, and would like to see Union score more than that.

 Maybe I’m a little obsessed with how much Bornstein is not good enough to play at a level above MLS.  Or maybe not, it’s all a matter of opinion.  There are other players involved in this contest.  Union are getting healthy, as Shea Salinas appeared in the last match against San Jose, and could see himself in the starting XI.  Danny Mwanga has had time to allow his shoulder to mend, Juan Diego Gonzales has had time to rest his groin (sounds inappropriate, doesn’t it?), and Alejandro Moreno should be healed from all of the bruises he incurs while unnecessarily falling to the pitch.  Union are the healthier side, and they’re playing at home this time, another reason to expect 3 points.  Also, on the first day of this month, Union beat the real Chivas (CD de Guadalajara) in a friendly, 1-0.  So, if we can beat the real Goats, then beating the watered-down, poorly managed, American version should be a cinch.

 Bottom Line:  If Union don’t win this match by more than 1 goal, I’ll be upset, and it will come through in my running diary.  Enjoy the game!

-Nick, the other .5 of Unholy Union

On an unrelated note, congratulations to Philadelphia Independence, the talented unknown women’s soccer team here in Philly, for making it to the finals in their inaugural season (and the league’s offical second season).  Take it down m’ladies.

-Dan K.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

